The KIT Center Information · Systems · Technologies (KCIST), in cooperation with the KIT Foundation, will award two prizes funded by the Gisela and Erwin Sick Foundation in 2024 to honor excellent scientific work in the research field of KCIST:

  • The Science Award of the Gisela and Erwin Sick Foundation for the best dissertation in 2022 and 2023, endowed with 7.000 €,
  • The Science Award of the Gisela and Erwin Sick Foundation for the best thesis (Bachelor or Master) in 2022 and 2023, endowed with 3.000 €.

Both fundamental and application-oriented work in the KCIST research area can be awarded. An overview of the KCIST research activities can be found on the website.

Only KIT doctoral candidates as well as master or bachelor students enrolled at KIT in 2022 or 2023 can apply for the award. Doctoral theses are eligible if the defence took place in 2022 or 2023. For a master or bachelor thesis to be eligible, the thesis must have been officially submitted in the years 2022 or 2023.

Please submit the following documents as a single PDF file by e-mail to info∂ until April 14, 2024 (in English or German) :

  • Formless application with the following information:
    • Name and contact details of the candidate
    • Title, date and final mark of the dissertation/thesis
  • Curriculum vitae in tabular form
  • Electronic version of the dissertation/thesis
  • Personal statement (1000 – 1500 characters incl. blanks):
    • Why is the dissertation/thesis worth an award?
    • What is new compared to the state of the art? (only for doctoral thesis)
  • Letter of recommendation (½ page) of the PhD or thesis supervisor (can be submitted in a separate e-mail)

Selection criteria

  • Innovation and originality
  • Importance of the topic
  • Contribution compared to the state-of-the-art (only for doctoral thesis)
  • Quality of the results
  • Overall impression
    • clarity, graphics, pictures, consitency,... of the dissertation/thesis
    • application documents

Submission by e-mail: info∂

Submissons Deadline: April 14, 2024


The review committee consists of KCIST members.